When you need to validate emails regularly you choose a subscription plan and take out a subscription.


Because the number of emails you need to validate each month may change, you can change your monthly subscription at any time.


Here are the terms we use when talking about subscriptions:


  • Subscription - a monthly payment for your quota
  • Subscription plan - a quota of emails at a fixed price
  • Upgrade your subscription - move to a subscription plan that offers a higher quota
  • Downgrade your subscription - move to a subscription plan that offers a lower quota


A subscription is not the same as a credit. Unused quota does not roll-over to the next month.


How Subscriptions Work - a Brief Reminder


Choose a subscription plan based on how many emails you need to validate each month; your ‘quota’.


Pay in advance for the first month by credit card or PayPal. Each month the same amount is charged to your card automatically. This monthly charge takes place on the date you started your subscription. It is your ‘billing cycle’.



To help you manage your subscription, the amount of quota you have remaining is shown on your dashboard when you are logged in to your Email Hippo account. Each time you validate an email, your quota reduces by one. Your quota resets each billing cycle.


If you need to validate a list that contains more emails than you have within your quota, you can either upgrade your subscription or pay for a ‘one-off’ list, Purchasing a Subscription.


  • If you decide you don’t need as many email addresses validated each month, change your subscription plan to a new, lower plan. ‘Downgrade’
  • If you need to validate more emails addresses each month than you have in your quota, upgrade your subscription. ‘Upgrade’


You can upgrade or downgrade at any time in your billing cycle. Your quota will adjust immediately. You will be automatically issued with a prorated credit payment or quota. The actual amount and quota prorated depends on your quota use to date within your billing cycle and whether you are upgrading or downgrading your subscription.


Upgrading Your Subscription plan


When you upgrade your subscription plan you are moving to a new plan. There are two important things to understand when you upgrade your plan.


1. You are not adding extra quota to your existing subscription plan

2. Your upgrade takes effect immediately


Here’s an example;


Current subscription plan 25000 quota. Your requirement changes to 100,000 quota.

You need to upgrade your subscription plan to 100,000.


Upgrading your subscription plan to 75,000 is not the right thing to do as your original 25,000 is not added to the new 75,000.



Current subscription planNew quota neededNew subscription plan
25,000100,000100,000
25,000100,00075,000


Quota you have used within the billing cycle is immediately deducted from your new (higher) subscription plan.


Current subscription planNew quota neededNew subscription planQuota used in billing cycleQuota remaining at new subscription plan
25,000100,000100,0001,43098,570


The payment system immediately cancels your subscription. Payment made for used quota is calculated and a credit is applied before payment for the new subscription is taken. This is why your actual payment is likely to be different than the amount shown in the subscription package.


Downgrading Your Subscription Plan


When you downgrade your subscription plan there are two important things to understand;


1. Downgrading your subscription plan takes effect immediately

2. Any used quota is deducted from your new (lower) subscription plan


Current subscription planNew quota neededNew subscription planQuota used in billing cycleQuota remaining at new subscription plan
25,0005,0005,0001,4303,570


If you have used more quota than your new (lower) subscription level, you will see a ‘0’ display on your dashboard.


Current subscription planNew quota neededNew subscription planQuota used in billing cycleQuota remaining at new subscription plan
25,0005,0005,00010,4300


When you downgrade to a lower subscription package, the payment system immediately cancels your subscription. The payment you have made for used quota is calculated before payment for the new subscription is taken. That is why the amount you pay is unlikely to be exactly the same as your new subscription package.